Holiday Monster Cookie Bars

Holiday Monster Cookie Bars

Found these on Pinterest! (duh)

With the help of my darling sous chef, we made these tasty little bars.

Recipe here

We wanted to make mint meringues, however the 2 hour baking time plus preparation and piping time, it would be too late. We’re old farts and go to bed early. I go to bed earlyish so I can roll outta bed before noon!

Find the recipe on my Pinterest!

We used almond butter instead of peanut butter. It is much more smooth and easier to mix. Also, I decided to use only 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup of PB. That’s A LOT of PB and I’m not the biggest fan of PB unless its in my PB&J… then I’m the happiest person in the world!

image

Yum yum yum. Have packaged up over half of the 9×13 pan for neighbors and friends. No way that many calories are staying in this house!

image

Ryan is amazing help in the kitchen – I give him specific ingredients to add or mix and speeds off and does it… all the while making me laugh with his hilarious commentary. He isn’t trying to be funny half the time and if I tried to retell most stories, they would lose their humor over the internets.

image

Mmm I spy tasty things!

Can we zoom in on the picture, please?

image

Mmm yummy. I swear I would pour that batter on my head and eat M&M’s off my arms it is so good!

image

All folded in and ready for the oven!

We put them in for 30 minutes as the recipe suggested but the middle was still completely raw so in it went for 5 more mins. Then 5 more. Then 5 more. Then it was past midnight and passed my bedtime and I could feel myself starting to turn into a pumpkin.

F it.

image

Looks done right? Ha this was the first pic I took after 30 minutes. Not even close to finished! Argh grumble, cookie bars, grumble. The issue could very well be my oven, but I would highly suggest adding 10-15 minutes to your cook time.

Anyway, they came delicious. Some of the middle bits are under-cooked, but that’s not stopping me from eating them!

IMG_7717

Original post here

Thanks for reading and Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

